Match Reports and Club NewsFootballers into semi final

Footballers into semi final

St. Brigids Blackwater 2-12 v 2-04 Castletown

After a number of years falling at the group stage, the junior footballers are back into a semi final for the first time since 2015 after a convincing victory over Castletown in a sunny Craanford.

The lads started well and were leading 0-2 to no score after kicking a few wides. Castletown broke through for a goal on 8 minutes but we levelled immediately through Conor Sutton. They goaled on 20 minutes scoring 1-1 without reply but we completely took over from then on. We won the kickout and worked it down where Kerill Sutton hit a long handpass into Pads path and the recent goal specialist made no mistake slotting low to the bottom corner, his 3rd in three games. Conor levelled it a minute later before veteran footballer Denis Carroll pointed an excellent score with the outside of the boot. Sutton and Mossy pointed before the break to leave us three up. Just on the stroke of half time, Lar got a bloody nose after going in bravely when a ball came across which resulted in Ger coming on.

Mossy broke through again at the start of the second half intelligently hand passing over the bar before Kerill hit the post 2 minutes later. Feidhlim took one for the team when he got a black card for a pull down on 10 minutes. Rasher and Kerill pushed it out to before we started to hold onto possession. There wasn’t to be another score until 7 minutes to go, Pad O’Connor yet again broke through only to be clothes lined and Kerill Sutton couldn’t have hit the penalty better into the top corner. We slowed the game and saw out the match. The other three teams into the semi final hat are Oylegate-Glenbrien, Glynn-Barntown and Monageer-Boolavogue, who were surprising winners of junior football championship favourites Kilrush.

Team: 1.Ger Lynch. 2.Kieran Roche 3.Ennae Carroll. 4.Feidhlim Roche 5.Kevin Corrigan. 6.Paul O’Leary 7.Kevin O’Brien (0-1) 8.Dean Wright 9.Mick Lillis (0-1) 10.Denis Carroll (0-2) 11.Shane O’Leary 12.Pad O’Connor (1-0). 13.Mossy Murphy (0-2) 14.Kerill Sutton (1-1, 1-0 peno). 15.Conor Sutton (0-5, 0-1 free)

Subs used: Anthony Roche for Paul O’Leary inj, Ger Lynch for Lar Lacey inj, Diarmuid Murphy for Feidhlim Roche, Aaron Culleton for Shane O’Leary, Robert McGuinness for Pad O’Connor.