Match Reports and Club NewsScoil Naomh Bríd into final

Scoil Naomh Bríd into final

The boys of Blackwater school, have reached yet another Roinn B football final after defeating Barntown school on a sunny Tuesday afternoon in Piercestown. The school has never won a Roinn B title, managing Roinn C football titles back in 1994 and 2012. They have also appeared before the lock down in 3 final Roinn B hurling finals since 2016, unfortunately losing them all. So this would make a 4th final in a row albeit football, hopefully the boys will come out on the right side this time.

The lads started at a hectic pace, scoring one goal and hitting the crossbar twice to race into an early lead, Sean Whelan goaling. A Leo Sinnott point had us winning by 5 with 8 minutes gone before the boys in blue started to get on top scoring 3 points in a row. Eoghan Kehoe had us well in front with a goal after a long run before Jacob Madden notched a third at a crucial time before the break with the boys leading by 9 points.

Barntown though exerted early pressure and goaled after a few minutes before laying siege to the Blackwater goal but the full back line stood strong with Cian Cullan, Jack Walsh and Dillian Barrett keeping the goals out along with Alex Atkinson in the goal. Eoghan Kehoe got a vital goal with 6 minutes left and put us 9 points in front again, before Jacob got his second goal to leave the score in no doubt. The boys pay Castlebridge, Screen and Curracloe schools in the final next week, hoping to make it forth time lucky.

Team: 1. Alex Atkinson 2. Cian Cullen 3. Jack Walsh 4. Dylan Barrett 5. Owen Cash 6. Oliver Power 7 Ruairi Doyle 8, Eoghan Kehoe 9 Oisin Whelan 10. Leo Sinnott 11. Sean Whelan 12. Rory Power 13. Conor Whelan 14. Jacob Madden 15. Frankie Cullen 16. Conor Corrigan 17. Johnny Kehoe 18. Owen Lacey 19. Xavier McKenzie Young 20. Sean Timmons 22. Leon Breen Kitts 23. Bobby Dillane 24. Ben Corrigan 25. Dylan Ogbonna 26. Adam Vincent 27. Rory Lacey 28. Sean O’Leary 29. Luke Walsh 30. Liam Lacey 31. Ollie Walsh 32. Conor Timmons 33. Aaron Whelan 34. Eoin Cullen