Match Reports and Club NewsLate late Mossy goal wins junior b encounter

Late late Mossy goal wins junior b encounter

Blackwater 3-11 v 1-16 Crossabeg-Ballymurn

What a brilliant exhibition of hurling in a very sunny Blackwater pitch on Friday evening with an injury time Tomas Murphy goal settling the tie in front of a massive crowd with cars parked down along the road.

The game was nip and tuck all the way to the end and the lads had a dream start when Lar Lacey goaled in the first 20 seconds. Ballymurn though settled and were level 6 minutes later. Dean Whelan and Ciaran edged us in front before James Dooley shot over the shoulder on 16 minutes to have us leading by 2. Ballymurn moved into the lead a minute later when they goaled before we goaled from the puc out, Mossy soloing from the corner flag and finished low to the net. Ballymurn pointed before a goal shot by them just barly went wide. The first free of the game was awarded after 22 minutes just to show the speed the game was being played at before Dean Whelan and Crossabeg traded points to have us leading by 2 at the break,

After 5 minutes Ballymurn had it back to 1 before a brilliant Dean Whelan solo from our own 30 to their 21 where he pointed. They replied yet again before Eddie Rowe had to be quick off his line to prevent a goal. After 12 minutes we finally got a few points together and we were 4 in front but Crossabeg yet again reeled us in and we were level again on 20 minutes. Rowe came to Anthonys rescue on 23 minutes closing down the attacker when it looked like a certain goal before Ballymurn moved in front in a crucial period with only 3 minutes left. Mossy leveled before yet again Ballymurn moved in front into injury time. With three minutes into added time a long ball was hit into the corner for Mossy but he still had two defenders to beat, he rounded the first and got around the second to tap high to the net sparking a large roar from the local home orowd. Still though there was to be more drama, the ref continued to play on and Ballymurn scored to bring it back to 1 with 5 minutes of overtime and had sideline cut which drifted wide. It wasn’t to be and our lads held on for victory.

Team: 1. Eddie Rowe. 2. Ian Curran. 3. Anthony Roche. 4, Kevin Purcell. 5. Paddy Cullen. 6. Brian Dooley. 7. Gavin O’Toole. 8. Robert McGuinness. 9. Kieran Roche (0-1). 10. Tomas Murphy (2-2). 11. Wayne O’Connor (C) (0-4, 0-3 frees, 0-1 65). 12.Dean Whelan (0-3)  13. Lar Lacey (1-0) 14. James Dooley (0-1). 15. Ger Lynch

Junior B Championship table