League Champions

St. Brigids Blackwater 2-15 v 0-10 St. Patricks

The Junior B hurlers won there first silverware of the year, defeating St. Pats in the Division 7 League final. The lads had an excellent start to the game with Dixon doing extremely well in the first attack to hit a bullet to the net. We were 1-02 to no score up before Pats started to make inroads, They scored the next three points to leave just two in it with 10 left in the first half. They also won a penalty but Peter done excellently to save low down to his right. Things got better though when Paul O’Leary did brilliantly to catch a high ball and flick to the net. Pats added two more scores to leave just 3 between them at the break.

Pats got the first score of the first but it was all Blackwater from there with some excellent points being picked off including to Shane O’Leary points from a distance while Kerill Sutton was putting in a monumental effort in midfield along with Dixon. Denis O’Brien was clearing alot of balls at centre ably assisted by his wing backs of Mossie O’Brien and Eoin O’Neill. Wayne stuck over a few late frees to put the icing on the cake.

Team: 1. Peter O’Brien. 2. MJ Kelly. 3. Kevin Purcell. 4. Ennae Carroll. 5. Eoin O’Neill. 6. Denis O’Brien. 7. Mossie O’Brien (0-1). 8. Dillon Dixon (1-0)  9. Kerill Sutton (0-2) 10. Wayne O’Connor (0-3). 11. Shane O’Leary (0-4). 12.  Shane Wright. 13. Paul Murphy (0-1). 14. Paul O’Leary (1-1). 15. Kevin Corrigan (0-3)

Subs used: Darragh Doyle for Shane Wright, Jack Sheridan for Kevin Corrigan, Joe Neville for Paul O’Leary, Mark Donoghue for MJ Kelly, James Roche for Paul Murphy.