Match Reports and Club NewsFootballers make stirring comeback but just fall short.

Footballers make stirring comeback but just fall short.

ACFL D4: Blackwater 2-10 v 2-11 Castletown

Our Junior footballers short of a number of first team regulars were losing by 8 points at one stage in the second half but made a brilliant comeback to just lose by the minimum. We had two points on the board curtosy of two Conor Sutton frees but Castletown who defeated us in the first round of the championship last year started to grow into the game and had the games first goal following an error in the back line. The tagged on a few more points and had the ball in the net again about 5 minutes before half time. We scored a few more points but our lads were behind at 7 at the break.

Castletown scored in a couple of minutes of the restart to put them 8 but our lads started to grow into the game with Dean Wright and Paul O’Leary starting to win the midfield dual. The real kickstarter of the revival came when Dean Wright won a free and kicked it over the full backs head to Declan O’Leary who rushing through on goal managed to spot an unmarked Ben Redmond to kicked into the empty net. With the goal brought new found confidence and another two quick points brought it back to 3 but with less than 5 minutes remaining, we needed another goal . A free by Conor Sutton was dropped in and Keril Sutton managing to hold onto the ball but was fouled so the referee was awarded a penalty. Kerill Sutton made no mistake to leave the sides level. What followed was a few tense minutes as the lads scuppered a few chances before Castletown picked off another score, their first in 15 minutes. Unfortunately a late free by Conor Sutton from an extremely difficult angle drifted wide but still the excellent second half performance will give plenty of optimism going into next weeks first championship match against Oylegate.

1.Ger Lynch. 2. Eoin O’Neill. 3. Anthony Roche. 4. Feidhlim Roche. 5. Kevin O’Brien (0-1). 6. Paul O’Leary (0-1). 7.Diarmuid Murphy . 8. Dean Wright (0-2). 9. Ben Redmond (1-0). 10. Conor Sutton (0-5, 0-3 frees). 11. Shane O’Leary. 12. Jake Nobbs 13. Declan O’Leary (0-1). 14. Kerill Sutton (1-0 peno) 15. Robert McGuinness

Subs used: Dean Whelan for Shane O’Leary inj, Ian Curran for Dean Whelan inj, Mikey Byrne for Jake Nobbs inj.

Click on facebook logo to view pictures.