Match Reports and Club NewsMixed bag on hurling weekend

Mixed bag on hurling weekend

MHC R1 Blackwater 0-08 v 2-09 Buffers Alley

Two loses and one victory over bank holiday Monday in the hurling matches. First up was the minor hurlers in the first round of the championship against Buffers Alley. The boys were on top for the first 10 minutes but let a number of chances go a begging but the Alley got a goal after 13 minutes to put them in front, a lead they wouldn’t relinquish for the rest of the game. The boys were down at the break and the Alley had a good spell after half time scoring a second goal. Our lads finished strong though but it wasn’t enough in the end, losing by 7. Next up for them is Ferns, away next Sunday at 11.

Team: 1. Adam Cullen. 2. James Cullen. 3. Brian Mooney. 4, Rian Salmon. 5. Jason Wallace. 6. Adam Murphy. 7. Ben Cullen. 8. Ollie Murphy. 9. Johnny O’Toole. 10. Ross Berry. 11. Josh Culleton. 12. 13. Brian Óg Curran. 14. Kealan Fikentscher. 15. Seamus Walsh

Subs used: Ciaran Cash for Jason Wallace inj, Fiachra O’Reilly .

ACHLD7 St. Annes 0-12 v 2-11 Blackwater

The junior b hurlers put in a massive performance against a very strong St. Annes team in Rathangan on Monday afternoon. The lads played with the wind in the first half and the game was nip and tuck until a high ball in was batted out by the goalie and Wayne was on hand to lash to the net. We never looked back for the rest of the game and lead by just 3 at the break facing into a very strong wind, with Wayne scoring a penalty after Denis Carroll had been fouled in the box.

Our lads showed brilliant battling qualities though with the older generation of the team standing up with Eoin Buttle, Wayne O’Connor and Lar Leacy reeling back the years popping up in a number of different positions on the field. Annes got as close as two points but our lads didn’t give an inch with Brendan Murphy saving. penalty also. Other impressive performers were Kevin Purcell at full back, Paddy Cullen, Ian Curran forming a solid half back line along with Anthony Roche while James Dooley scored some nice points at tight angles.

Team 1. Brendan Murphy. 2. Eoin Buttle. 3. Kevin Purcell 4. MJ Kelly. 5. Paddy Cullen. 6. Anthony Roche. 7. Ian Curran. 8. Denis Carroll. 9. Dean Whelan (0-2). 10. Conor Sutton 11. Wayne O’Connor (2-4, 1-0 penalty 0-3 frees) 12.Robert McGuinness (0-1) 13. Declan O’Leary. 14. Lar Leacy 15. James Dooley (0-2).

Subs used: Mikey Byrne (0-1) for Declan O’Leary, Declan O’Leary for Denis Carroll.

ACHLD2 Monageer/Boolavogue 1-12 v 0-13 Blackwater

The intermediate hurlers suffered a disappointing outcome in the hurling league in windy Monageer pitch on Monday evening. Monageer started brightly and were 3 points to 1 up as we were guilty of hitting a few wides. Frees were keeping us in touch but the men in red moved four in front with 8 left on the clock. Eoin O’Neill made a brilliant block when a shot was heading to the net and at half time we were three down, unfortunately yet to score from play.

They changed instantly at the start of the second half with some brilliant hand passing led the ball to Mossy who pointed. It wasn’t until 37 gone that Dean Wright made an exceptional catch and scored the resulting point all from the 65. Unfortunately disaster struck a minute later when a cross field shot for a point deceived Peter in the goal and went to the net. Our lads responded well with Diarmuid pointing. We nearly goaled when Mossy side stepped his marker but unfortunately his goal shot was saved by the keeper. Monageer kept us at a distance and notched two more before we found ourselves 5 down with just 12 left. We battled back with two Pad frees and a Dean Wright free brought to back to 2. Unfortunately time was against us with Monageers free taker and Pad swapping frees before the final whistle.

Team. 1. Peter O’Brien. 2. Feidhlim Roche. 3. Ennae Carroll. 4. Ciaran Roche. 5. Richard Blake. 6. Eoin O’Neill. 7. Ben Redmond. 8. Diarmuid Murphy (0-1). 9. Pad O’Connor (0-6 frees). 10. Jake Nobbs. 11. Paul O’Leary. 12. 13. Seanie Purcell. 14. Dean Wright (0-4, 0-3 frees) 15. Tomas Murphy (0-2)

Shane O’Leary for Jake Nobbs.