Match Reports and Club NewsWins for minors and juniors

Wins for minors and juniors

Blackwater 3-08 v 1-07 Kilrush

The minor footballers have made it two from two in the football championship this year when they enjoyed a good 7 point win in a very windy and cold Blackwater pitch. The sides were level before Johnny made a brilliant run and the ball made its way to Josh who finished well. A second goal from Ollie and then Josh with his second had the lads clear by 4 at the break. A brilliant defensive second half performance limited Kilrush to just a couple of scores and they scored a late consolation goal with the last kick of the game. Next up is Buffers Alley on Bank Holiday Monday at 11am in Blackwater pitch in the first round of the minor hurling championship.

1.Ian o Reilly. 2. Fiachra O’Reilly. 3. Ben Cullen. 4. Rian Salmon. 5. Ciaran Cash. 6. Brian Mooney. 7. Alan Malanowski 8. Ollie Murphy. 9. Johnny O’Toole. 10. Seamus Walsh. 11. Adam Murphy. 12. Ross Berry 13. Adam Cullen. 14. Josh Culleton 15, Kealan Fikentscher

Sarsfield 1-07 v 4-09 Blackwater

Much like the minors goals win games. This game was originally fixed for Pairc Garman but their pitch was waterlogged so the game was changed to Blackwater. The lads played with the wind in the first and pretty much laid siege to the ‘Butters’ goal due to the strength of the wind with Rasher finally breaking the deadlock on 15 minutes. We were guilty before this of hitting a number of wides but once the goal went in we tagged on further scores before a second Rasher goal just before half time had us 2-07 to 0-01 in the lead.

Disaster struck at the start of the second half when the town team struck a goal within a minute and nearly had a second goal a minute later only for Lar ‘Buffon’ Lacey to make a brilliant save. Blackwater though settled well and held onto possession for long periods before a shot by Mossy Murphy landed into the square due to the wind and Declan was on hand to punch the ball to the net. This seemed to take the wind out of the Sars sails and a further Mossy goal after a brilliant move involving the ball moving quickly from the back from Aaron Culleton with 5 left completed the victory. Hurling next up next weekend.

1.Lar Lacey. 2. Aaron Culleton. 3. Ennae Carroll. 4. Feidhlim Roche. 5. Kevin O’Brien (2-01). 6. Paul O’Leary. 7. Anthony Roche. 8. Dean Wright. 9. Mick Lillis. 10. Tomas Murphy (1-03). 11. Shane O’Leary. 12. Diarmuid Murphy. 13. Declan O’Leary (1-01). 14. Derek Harvey (0-1) 15. Robert McGuinness

Subs used: Caolan O’Reilly for Derek Harvery, Ciaran Roche