Match Reports and Club NewsMinors start year with win

Minors start year with win

Ferns 0-07 v 3-05 Blackwater

The minor footballers started the year with a win on Sunday morning but only for our goalkeeper Ian O’Reilly, things could of been far different. He pulled off a number of wonderful saves throughout the match at crucial stages to keep us ahead. Ferns were first to register a score but Johnny made one of his maisy runs and finished brilliant to the net. A Ross point and then a free had us ahead but Ferns started to grow into the game and were just two points behind the break while also they missed a gilt goal chance after Ian had brilliantly saved. Scores for both teams were hard to come by with conditions awful with rain, wind and it was bitterly cold.

A tactical change at the break had an immediate impact as a high ball to Johnny O’Toole was flicked on expertly by him to the on rushing Adam Murphy and he made no mistake drilling low to corner net. Ross pushed us 6 in front but yet again Ferns to their credit refused to wilt and notched over three scores to bring it back to 3 with still 18 minutes left to go. Ian yet again pulled off a double save in the goal to deny a certain Ferns goal a minute later. We finally pushed the score back to 6 after some wonderful play, Johnny O’Toole soloed through and while the ball was on the ground he managed to brilliant pass to Ross who couldn’t miss tapping into the empty net. A Ross free and then two Ferns scores had it back to 6 but Jimmy Whelan tapped over a late point to make sure of victory. Next up is Kilrush at home next Sunday when the lads will be hoping for better conditions.

Team: 1. Ian O’Reilly. 2. Rian Salmon. 3. Jason Wallace. 4. Brian Óg Curran. 5,. Alan Malanowski. 6. Brian Moooney. 7. Ben Cullen. 8. Johnny O’Toole (1-0). 9. Ollie Murphy. 10. Thomas Donovan. 11. Adam Murphy (1-0). 12. Fiachra O’Reilly. 13. Adam Cullen. 14. Ross Berry (1-4, 0-2 frees) 15. Seamus Walsh

Subs used: Ciaran Cash for Adam Cullen, Jimmy Whelan (0-1) for Fiachra O’Reilly, Kealan Fikentscher for Jason Wallace inj.